Cuisine at home Forums
Measuring a Souffle Dish? - Printable Version

+- Cuisine at home Forums (https://forums.cuisineathome.com)
+-- Thread: Measuring a Souffle Dish? (/showthread.php?tid=90261)

Measuring a Souffle Dish? - BarbaraS - 11-14-2009

Last Satruday, at my family's wonderful gathering at my folks' house, I came upon an old souflle dish that my Mom used to use. I remember being warned to tip-toe around the oven while passing through the kitched lest the souffle should fall. Well, my Mom doesn't do much exotic cooking anymore, so I asked for it and she let me have it.

Billy's recipe for cheddar, bacon and egg souffle got me thinking. I'd like to make that, but I have no idea what size this souffle dish is. There is no marking anywhere to be found.

How do you measure a souffle dish?

Barbara

Re: Measuring a Souffle Dish? - Gourmet_Mom - 11-14-2009

Barbara, I am no expert, for sure, but here's what I'd do: I'd just use a measuring cup and measure out water until it was full. This should tell you how many quarts/cups it will hold. That's my two cents. Let's see what the others say.

BTW, that souffle is really good! I couldn't believe how easy it was to make a souffle. I didn't have a proper souffle dish, but I made it work with what I had. Came out perfect!

Re: Measuring a Souffle Dish? - Roxanne 21 - 11-14-2009

I would say about 6 inches diameter with about 5 1/2-3/4 inch depth----four cup capacity,or thereabouts. The height is the most important for a souffle........that was a really great recipe---I made that along with him!!!

Let us know your review----good/bad/indifferent!!!

Re: Measuring a Souffle Dish? - BarbaraS - 11-14-2009

Okay, so I just measured it. It's 8" in diameter and 4" high. About 1/2" from the top, the sides flare out just a tad. I was able to put 8 cups of water and it came to the within 1/2" from the very top. I'm guessing you don't fill a souffle dish to the top, you need room for it to rise.