checkin' in :)
  Re: (...)
A thanks to Laura who sent me a "where are you?" message-- I really hadn't thought it had been so long but, well, I went back to mid-March and didn't see any posts by me! Thanks for the "nudge", Laura.

Then I came here and saw a thread with my name on it, and hoped that I wasn't in trouble...

Theresa was correct in that I took on a restoration project that I had been postponing for 10 years and it has turned into a monster with a life of its own. Really, if I get this done before I die it will be a miracle.

Fortunately the weather has been pretty crappy so I don't feel that I have to go outside and weed, mulch, etc. since you can't do that in the rain. And cold.

But other things are claiming my attention. MIL fell and was in the hospital for 2 weeks, then went back to NJ to live with her daughter for a couple of weeks to regain her strength before returning to her apartment. Last week, she had a mini-stroke and is now in a rehab center trying to regain her speech and swallowing ability. Chances are great that when she does return to this area, it will be to assisted living. So that means moving her, again.

We've also been meeting with contractors to have a small addition put on our house. We have decided that within a few years we will move and that having a second bathroom will make the house more salable. Also need the barn re-roofed, and new gutters on the main house. We called 7 contractors, 5 returned the call, and we have met with 4. No estimates yet, but we are being patient.

Other stuff too, but this has been long enough. I haven't been cooking "adventurously" very much, just quick go-to recipes because I'm so darn tired at the end of the day. And, also because I'm pooped, I hardly do much more than check my e-mail at the end of the day then try to stay awake for at least a couple of hours after dinner. I do lurk here a bit, but it's difficult to form coherent sentences.