80's Food
  Re: (...)
Do ya'll remember the 80's?? We're doing an event at the winery every Friday in August, with 80's themed food. I've been trying to dig thru boxes to find old 80's magazines. What do you folks remember eating??
Practice safe lunch. Use a condiment.
  Re: 80's Food by Lorraine (Do ya'll remember th...)
I graduated from high school in 1980 and really didn't do much cooking or dining out until the late 80's so I'm trying to remember some things my mom made that were outside of the regular dinner stuff.

I remember the orange jello/tapioca pudding side dish. Must have had Cool Whip in it. I think it had mandarin oranges in it. It was really pretty - LOL! Had it at Easter a lot.

Definitely the 7 layer mexican dip.

I'm trying to remember the other salad she'd make for cookouts. It think it was layered as well, with lettuce, frozen peas, bacon bits, sometime of mayo mixture and miraculously it stayed crisp when you assembled it the night before. There may have been slice green pepper and celery in it?

I'll keep thinking and see if I can find something concrete.
  Re: Re: 80's Food by Trixxee (I graduated from hig...)
Here is a rendition of the seven layer lettuce salad. Apparently many things were made with 7 layers in the 80's.

http://southernfood.about.com/od/vegetab...30608c.htm
  Re: Re: 80's Food by Trixxee (Here is a rendition ...)
And here is the orange-tapioca salad recipe.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/orange-tapioca-salad/
  Re: Re: 80's Food by Trixxee (And here is the oran...)
I remember making that seven layer salad in the 80's and everyone loved it! I used to assemble it in a 9x13 baking dish, cover it tightly, and the next day, it was easy to cut into squares. Trixxee is right, surprisingly it stayed crisp.