What Is Adobo Seasoning?
  Re: (...)
Hey All,

I came across a chickpea salad recipe that uses adobo seasoning which I've never used before. Just what is adobo seasoning? I've seen various kinds, too.

Barbara
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. Then find someone whose life has given them vodka.
  Re: What Is Adobo Seasoning? by BarbaraS (Hey All,[br][br]I ca...)
Barbara, adobo is a Philippine seasoning - chiles, herbs and vinegar.

Adobo sauce is a Mexican sauce again made of chiles, herbs and vinegar. Chipotles are usually packed in adobo sauce.
Retired and having fun writing cookbooks, tasting wine and sharing recipes with all my friends.
www.achefsjourney.com
  Re: Re: What Is Adobo Seasoning? by cjs (Barbara, adobo is a ...)
Thanks Jean! I've used chiles in adobo sauce - pretty hot stuff, even for me. But in the Mexican/Latin foods section at Wegmans they have granular adobo seasoning. Would this be hot as well?

Barbara
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. Then find someone whose life has given them vodka.
  Re: Re: What Is Adobo Seasoning? by BarbaraS (Thanks Jean! I've u...)
I'm sure it would be, Barbara. How hot? Maybe a little hotter than medium? just guessing.

Here's an example of making your own and you can manipulate the amounts -
•1/4 cup sweet paprika
•3 tablespoons ground black pepper
•2 tablespoons onion powder
•2 tablespoons dried oregano (preferably Mexican)
•2 tablespoons ground cumin
•1 tablespoon chipotle chile powder
•1 tablespoon garlic powder
Retired and having fun writing cookbooks, tasting wine and sharing recipes with all my friends.
www.achefsjourney.com
  Re: Re: What Is Adobo Seasoning? by cjs (I'm sure it would be...)
Unfortunately, there are several things that share the name "abodo," and that often leads to confusion.

In the Philippines, adobo is a cooking method, not necessarily a stand-alone seasoning mix. It refers to cooking the meat as a stew in vinegar.