Pancake
  Re: (...)
I have been experimenting with recipes for pancakes and I have got the flavor just right. My problem is that the pancakes are too dense. Any suggestions on what I can add to the mix to lighten them up? Make them fluffier?
Mike _SD
  Re: Pancake by mgillett (I have been experime...)
Maybe whipped egg whites?

Someone with more experience will be her shortly or tomorrow morning to help with your question.

btw, welcome to Cuisine at Home
Jan

Please spay and neuter your pets.
  Re: Pancake by mgillett (I have been experime...)
Hi there and welcome to the forum! I'm no expert on pancakes, but there is a possibility that your batter is a little too thick or that you have overmixed it. I always make my batter thinner than I think it should be, then leave it on the counter for a little while before I use it. Like most things, it's trial and error.

If you just sit tight, there is a lady on this forum that I have heard makes some wonderful pancakes (yes, Jean, I do mean you) and I'm sure she can offer some good advice.
Maryann

"Drink your tea slowly and reverently..."
  Re: Re: Pancake by Mare749 (Hi there and welcome...)
"I'm no expert on pancakes," - as I read that I thot, "man, me either!!"

By fluffy, do you mean thicker or lighter and higher? The suggestion of beaten whites would certainly help with the second. I'm afraid that's not the kind of pancakes I prefer, so I can't really help.

I like mine as Maryann, thin batter and turned just as the bubbles start showing. Now, if you're talking flavor, there I can offer a pancake recipe that is a wonderful family treat!

WALLACE'S PANCAKES

6 T. flour -- rounded (9.3 oz)
3 1/2 cups buttermilk
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda -- rounded
1/2 teaspoon baking powder -- shy
2 eggs
3 T. bacon grease
3 T. sugar

Mix all together & pour ~1/3 cup size pancakes.
The batter should be fairly thin.
Turn as soon as top has bubbles.

NOTES : Our whole family has loved these since I was a kid.