Using the bread machine again......
  Re: (...)
and loving it! That dough cycle is wonderful. Being an inexperienced bread baker, I never bothered with it. My thinking was, just throw it all in the machine and forget about it. We all quickly got bored with the same old square loaf.

One of you fine people (sorry, can't remember who) told me to try using just the dough cycle with whatever bread recipe I wanted to use, then finish off the bread in the regular oven. Well, let me tell you, we have been eating wonderful, crusty, Italian bread with sesame seeds all week. My hubbie likes it so much, he offered to do it if I would show him how. So, thank you to the person who told me about this.

Now, I do have one question. The dough is a bit sticky when I take it out of the bread machine. Does that mean it needs more flour in the machine, or just to work some more into the dough on the board while making the loaves?
Thanks.

Maryann
Maryann

"Drink your tea slowly and reverently..."
  Re: Using the bread machine again...... by Mare749 (and loving it! That...)

Hi, Maryanne, twice I've started, gone to the kitchen and have timed out!

A little flour on your board won't hurt. As you get more practice, you'll notice about 10 min into the first cycle if you need more flour or not. My experience is that the higher sugar doughs are stickier, like my Portuguese bread or Brioche.

I know my dough is perfect when I can take it out of the machine, slightly dampen my tavallinni (I'm sure I spelled that wrong, it's basically a big cutting board that is reversible, with a lip to hold it on the counter) and work my dough with no add'l flour. The way you've been baking bread, you'll have it figured out in no time.

Two very good things to remember:

Yeast breads are very forgiving

A botched up loaf of freshly baked bread still tastes so much better than a store bought loaf! Glad you're having fun, guess I need to make some rolls for Monday.

PJ
PJ