Copyright question
  Re: (...)
So, I feel a need to reveal that my wonderful husband is a newspaper editor and I really appreciate that copyrights/original works are a big deal (including recipes). And, I am a University administrator and understand the fair use doctrine.

As I'm new to this group and thought this was a forum for folks who already generally subscribe to the C@H publications. I’m reluctant to post copyrighted recipes that are not mine or not already in the public domain.... so I'll admit that I'm a bit of a copyright purist.

Can you old hands, pooh-bahs, moderators & addicts educate me on the expectations for this arena? I’d be grateful.
  Re: Copyright question by HomeCulinarian (So, I feel a need to...)
Info -

Mere listings of ingredients as in recipes, formulas, compounds or prescriptions are not subject to copyright protection. However, where a recipe or formula is accompanied by substantial literary expression in the form of an explanation or directions, or when there is a combination of recipes, as in a cookbook, there may be a basis for copyright protection.

Protection under the copyright law (title 17 of the United States Code, section 102) extends only to “original works of authorship” that are fixed in a tangible form (a copy). “Original” means merely that the author produced the work by his own intellectual effort, as distinguished from copying an existing work. Copyright protection may extend to a description, explanation, or illustration, assuming that the requirements of the copyright law are met.

Hope this helps
  Re: Copyright question by HomeCulinarian (So, I feel a need to...)
that if you properly cite the source you are not in violation of the copyright laws. There are zillions of recipes on the net and I copy them all the time, but only for personal use, not for sale.
  Re: I believe by lxxf (that if you properly...)