Leftover Pork Roast, what's a chef to do?
  Re: (...)
Leftover Pork Roast, what's a chef to do?

Had a nice pork roast a while back and ended up with some leftovers, since I was originally trained as a soup chef I naturally bagged them and froze them. Because the wife and I were fly fishing down in Gunnison on the Taylor River it would have to be a quickly prepared dinner, due to the time we would get back from the trip, late Sunday afternoon. Well I had been finishing up the chile crop from the garden and had plenty on hand, I decided on Green Chile, made from the pork loin roast leftovers I had frozen.

[Image: roasttrm.jpg]

So I pulled the roasted pork and commenced to trimming and then dicing the pork to prepare it for its transformation into dinner. Of course the pork alone is not enough, the secret, to my mind, of good green chile is the depth of the stock and accompaniments. And so it is that I start the mise en place for the stock.

[Image: vegetable.jpg]

Pretty standard really, Onions diced, Celery Diced, Carrots Minced. and a couple cloves of garlic fine diced. Carrots were done in the Kitchen Aid Chef Chopper which does an excellent job. These will be sweated until tender then added to the main chile pot.

[Image: chefstir.jpg]

As the Chef Stir goes to work minding the modified Mirepoix, I get to work on the pork prep and main course. Little oil and heat to the bottom of the stockpot, and it is ready
to go to work.

[Image: oilstock.jpg]

To develop the flavors correctly I want the meat to receive the benefit of a nice browning, while the meat has already been roasted once, the maillard reaction will continue if started again in the saute.

[Image: 100_3865.jpg]

A little salt and pepper to get things rolling along, heat, and time will help the meat develop a lot more depth. And depth is what soups, stews and one pot meals are all about!

[Image: wine.jpg]