Pie Crust 101
  Re: (...)
I love to cook! I love to bake! I get really excited around the holidays and I love having big gatherings at my house. The more people the better!

My Pie crust has always been a complete disaster! It always sticks to the rolling pin and counter and when I try to use more flour to counter that it becomes brittle.

Does anyone have any suggestions on a good pie crust. I would love to make my own apple pie this year!

Happy Holiday's
AJ
  Re: Pie Crust 101 by LuvFud (I love to cook! I l...)
Hi AJ - I don't think I've welcomed you to the forums, so Welcome!! I'm a cook not a pastry chef or baker, so I'll leave the answers to these 'special' folks that can help you.
Retired and having fun writing cookbooks, tasting wine and sharing recipes with all my friends.
www.achefsjourney.com
  Re: Re: Pie Crust 101 by cjs (Hi AJ - I don't thin...)
Hi AJ and welcome to the forum! Hope you will be joining us often.

As for the pie crust.....I WISH I could make pie crust like my mom used to when I was a kid. It was so light and flaky, perfect every time. But, no matter how many times I try, I just don't get it right. So, I use the kind in the dairy case. It's a cinch.

Our forum pastry chef will be along later and I'm sure she can give you some great tips.

Maryann
Maryann

"Drink your tea slowly and reverently..."
  Re: Re: Pie Crust 101 by Mare749 (Hi AJ and welcome to...)
" Our forum pastry chef will be along later and I'm sure she can give you some great tips. "

I'm here! I'm here!!! Just joking, I'm no good at making pastry either, but I did bring Musicmaker's recipe to the top for you. Welcome to the boards!
Practice safe lunch. Use a condiment.
  Re: Re: Pie Crust 101 by Mare749 (Hi AJ and welcome to...)
WELCOME from me too, AJ!!!! Hope you come along to visit us frequently!!! New ideas and opinions/questions are most welcomed for us that have no clue!!!!

My recipe for pie dough---works beautifully every time---

2 cups flour