Homemade Pasta Questions
  Re: (...)
I recently acquired a pasta roller/cutter from ebay. I haven't gotten it in the mail yet, but I am waiting. I have wanted one for a long time. I used to make pasta my hand, (rolling it with a rolling pin and cutting with a knife) but my kitchen is small with limited counter space.

I never really knew about the drying process. How long? Is it really necessary?

If someone has some experience with pasta making, I'd be grateful to hear your tips and suggestions.
"Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time."
Laura
  Re: Homemade Pasta Questions by luvnit (I recently acquired ...)
Well, I'll start Laura, but I don't make pasta as often as others around here I'm thinkin'.

Roy made me a nice drying rack that I've been using for the last 6 months or so, but before that I used to just toss them with some flour until I was ready to cook it up.

I try to make just the amount I want to cook at one time, but if I have some extra I have a basket that I keep the leftover pasta in covered with a dish towel and I don't really keep it for any length of time.

I'm with you - I'll be interested to hear what/how others work with their pastas.

Here's the drying rack he made - works great.
[Image: pastarack.jpg]
Retired and having fun writing cookbooks, tasting wine and sharing recipes with all my friends.
www.achefsjourney.com
  Re: Re: Homemade Pasta Questions by cjs (Well, I'll start Lau...)
I wonder if that would work for angel hair pasta. I bought the pasta maker attachment for my kitchen aid stand mixer and it's a pretty cool toy. I make angel hair for a chicken parmesan recipe I make for the wifey (her favorite) but it invariably seems that I end up with large clumps of cooked pasta instead of individual strands, so as of late I have been cheating and buying the "fresh" in the grocery store.

If I could figure this out better, I would enjoy making it!
  Re: Re: Homemade Pasta Questions by jeffdubya (I wonder if that wou...)
Quote: