Getting started with sourdough
  Re: (...)
Although there have been a few threads that have mentioned sourdough, I haven't really seen any for absolute beginners, with discussions of starters, etc.

I'd like to experiment with sourdough, and have seen LOTS of recipes for starters. Some of them even include yeast. That would seem like "cheating," to me, but maybe there are some merits to it that someone could bring up. Otherwise, I'd like to get some starter recipes, and would also like to learn how to enhance the sourness of the bread if a particular starter just isn't that sour.

Sourdough bread is rare, here, and one local bakery has been making and selling some, but it is hardly sour at all. It's delicious bread, but nothing like what I would call sourdough. Of course, I know that some of that has to do with exactly which strains of yeast are naturally available in the air of the location where the starter is made, so maybe my attempts will be similarly "unsour." If so, maybe "cheating" by adding some yeast at the outset could help, but I'd like to know YOUR opinions, especially if you have experience in working with sourdough.

Thanks!
If blueberry muffins have blueberries in them, what do vegan muffins have?
  Re: Getting started with sourdough by labradors (Although there have ...)
Sorry, Labs. I've only done sandwich, French and Italian breads.

You've probably been to these sites, but I thought I throw them out there. They have some good info, IMHO. Breadtopia and Artisan Bread Baking. Then the King Arthur Flour site is MY go to place. I've had great success with things I've tried from there. I find that I always have to "play" with a bread recipe before it looks, feels, and tastes just right.
Daphne
Keep your mind wide open.
  Re: Re: Getting started with sourdough by Gourmet_Mom (Sorry, Labs. I've o...)
I have an old friend's recipe around here somewhere and since I'm cleaning out old recipes I'll probaby run across it.