need help finding a recipe
  Re: (...)
I am new to this magazine and site. I love the recipes. I believe my first issue was the Feb 2008 issue and I misplaced it. There was a recipe in there that was so good. I only made it once and don't remember all the ingredients or the name of it. This is what I do remember: it was a beef recipe it had apple cider vinegar and pinapple juice. It was a long recipe and it had to be simmered for a very long time. The sauce had to half itself. If I remember correctly it was also featured on the cover. I wish I could remember more but unfortunately I cannot. If anyone could help me I would greatly apprieciate it. Thanks in advance.
~Anne
  Re: need help finding a recipe by asofte (I am new to this mag...)
Sirloin Steak Stir-fry

Makes 4 cup stir-fry, about 3 cups rice; Total time: 45 minutes

1 1/2 cups long grain white rice
1 jar hoisin sauce (6 oz)
1 cup rice vinegar
1 can pineapple juice (6 oz)
1/2 cup honey
1 T. garlic, minced
1 T. fresh ginger, minced
1 t. kosher salt
1 1/4 lb top sirloin, trimmed, thinly sliced
2 T. brown sugar
2 T. vegetable oil
1 t. red pepper flakes
1 cup red bell pepper, seeded, thinly sliced
1 cup scalions, chopped into 2" pieces
1/2 cup frozed shelled edamame, lima beans, or green peas
1 T. toasted sesame oil
Toasted sesame seeds

COOK rice according to package directions and keep warm

COMBINE hoisin, vinegar, pinapple juice, honey, garlic, ginger, and salt in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over high heat and reduce to 1 1/2 cups, about 15 minutes

TOSS sliced sirloin with sugar, vegetable oil, and pepper flakes to coat. Heat a large non-stick skillet over high, the stir-fry beef until browned, about 3 minutes.

ADD bell pepper, scallions, and edamame, and saute for 1 minute more. Off heat, stir in sesame oil.

Serve with rice and prepared sauce on the side. Garnish stir-fry with sesame seeds.

Enjoy, and welcome to the forum!

Barbara