Must Have Books For Cooks!
  Re: (...)
Wow, I am overwhelmed by the creativity and knowledge on this board.

I'm just a hack of a cook, but I have to attribute Shirley Corriher's "Cookwise" to my ability to be able to make some darn decent food, and with some reason and chemistry. I have lots of other cook books, but none of them scream for second. I look forward to every C@H issue that comes, I don't think I'll ever give up the subscription.

So what are your "must haves" when it comes to books relating to food and cooking?

Barbara
When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. Then find someone whose life has given them vodka.
  Re: Must Have Books For Cooks! by BarbaraS (Wow, I am overwhelme...)
Barbara, I completely agree with you. I'm in awe of all the talented people on this forum and learn something new every time I check in.

Must haves, well, most of the new recipes I try are recommended by someone on this forum. C@H and the LCBO Food and Drink are my two favorite magazines.

My favorite new cookbook for this year has been The Bread Baker's Apprentice. Baking bread has become my new passion, and this is probably one of the best books.

Maryann
Maryann

"Drink your tea slowly and reverently..."
  Re: Must Have Books For Cooks! by BarbaraS (Wow, I am overwhelme...)
Argghhh! I had my post about done and then accidently hit the wrong key and lost it... I hate it when that happens.

Anyway, I like "The Best Recipe" by Cook's Illustrated. I also have the Best Light, Best Make-Ahead, and Best International and really like the original version The Best. It explains about the ingredient and then gives several variations with different finishing or seasonings.

My other go to book is "Lowfat Living Cookbook" by Cooper. I have really loved nearly every single recipe in it. Instead of fat, there is a lot of flavor in the recipes. We use it regularly.